top of page
IIzmictlan Apochcalol-The lagoon
  • IIzmictlan Apochcalol-The lagoon

    Artist: Ane Alfeiran

    Size: 18x23cm

    Medium: Acrylic on paper


    Year: 2020


    IIzmictlan Apochcalol- is the eight level of the afterlife.
    In order for your soul to give itself to eternity, you will have to release everything that binds you to the perishable. In front of you there will be a lagoon, immerse yourself in it like pork cracklings in sauce to discover what there is after death.

    From the series "Camino al Mictlan"
    -Mictlan is the underworld of Aztec mythology and consists of nine distinct levels. Aztecs believed that when we die, we travel through the various levels. Throughout this series, the artist explores the levels of Mictlan in the context of a number of existential questions such as Who are we? What Are we? Why are we? Where do we go? How do we get there?

      bottom of page